Through TCC’s Firefighter Certification Program, you will learn basic firefighting skills:
- Extricating victims from wrecked vehicles
- Fighting fire
- Maintaining equipment
- Fire prevention
- Handling hazardous materials emergencies.
Under Florida Statute Chapter 633, individuals seeking employment as a professional firefighter in Florida must possess a firefighter certification. Evaluations are written and practical tests. Most firefighters are employed by County and City fire departments.
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training is the governing body of all certified fire training centers. Click Here to Learn More.
We are also partnered with Florida Fire Training Directors Association and Florida Fire Chiefs Association
Steps to Apply
Complete the Steps to Apply to TCC, then complete and submit the FPSI application and include all the required documents. The FPSI application is attached to the course.
If you have taken classes at TCC, you will still need to apply for admission into any new program at TCC to verify that the information you provided previously is up-to-date.
Submit a Recruit Application
Please fill out this Initial Contact Form to have a coordinator contact you about the academy.
Download a Recruit Application For Fire Academy and complete the enclosed checklist. Be sure to include all listed needed documents or your application will not be processed. The seven-year driving history can be picked up at DHSMV.
Return the completed application to:
Florida Public Safety Institute
Attention: Fire Coordinator
75 College Drive
Havana, FL 32333
Apply for Admission
- Apply for admission to TCC using our online application.
- After you submit you will receive a confirmation page with your TCC Identification number, email address, and password. Keep this page for your records as you will need this information to log in to Workday and MyTCC to access your TCC email.
Submit Residency Declaration
Students seeking Florida residency for tuition purposes are required to submit a declaration to the College proving they, or their parent/legal guardian, maintained legal residence in this state for at least 12 consecutive months immediately prior to their initial enrollment.
The declaration and all supporting documentation must be submitted online prior to the start of classes.
Take the TABE Test
All enrolled students who have not successfully completed college English and Math must take and pass the TABE Full Battery Level (A) with a score of 10th-grade level or higher in all categories.
TABE Test | Cost: $25
Applicants MUST register and pay for the exam prior to the date of the test.
Contact the Testing Center to schedule an appointment to take the TABE test.
After Submitting an Application
Do not obtain a medical examination until you have been given a conditional accepted into the academy. Conditional acceptance will be determined on the date of the individual interview. The interviews will be conducted approximately 30 days prior to the beginning of class.
The Tallahassee Fire Academy course requires 492 hours of training (including 1st Responder) and is offered twice a year as a part-time academy which lasts approximately 22 weeks. In-state tuition/lab fees for Firefighter I and II Minimum Standards is approximately $2,366.13, (subject to change per semester), with an additional $580.38 plus tax required for uniforms (subject to change per semester) and $60.00 for written exam. Make sure you go to Steps to Apply and print out Recruit Application, return it to me and Apply for Admission to TCC. If you have any problem or questions, please do not hesitate to call me.
Deadline to receive your application is November 3, 2023
|Title||Start Date||End Date|
|Firefighter Minimum Standards Program - Spring - 2024||01/08/2024||06/08/2024|
Students from other states will be subject to out-of-state fees that are about three times the rate for in-state tuition. Contact the coordinator listed on the course announcement for exact amounts.
What equipment will I need?
None, all equipment is provided.
When can I expect to know if I have been accepted into the Fire Academy?
There will be individual interviews approximately 30 days prior to beginning of class. You will be notified at the completion of the interview.
When are fees due?
Fees are due on or before the first day of class.
Do I have to become an EMT or Paramedic too?
Different fire departments have different requirements so you must contact the department you are interested in. Many local departments now require that you be a minimum of Fire Fighter and EMT before they will employ you.
What types of physical activities will I be involved in?
Students are engaged in physical activities to develop their cardiovascular capabilities and strength, as well as activities required of firefighters, such as lifting and carrying as well as raising ground ladders, using heavy equipment to perform forcible entry, directing fire hose streams, and other tasks.
I’ve had a few problems with the law in the past. Can I still be a fire fighter?
The state of Florida will not allow you to hold a certification if you have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor directly related to the position you are applying for. If you are not sure if you qualify, you may call the Bureau of Fire Standards and Training at (352) 369-2800.
I took the TABE or PERT test already. Do I have to take it again?
TABE or PERT results are good for a 2 year period. If you have not successfully completed college level English and Math and it has been more than 2 years since your last TABE test then the answer is YES.
Does the academy have a job placement service?
No. However, the academy routinely invites representatives from agencies statewide to recruit from each class.
Phone: (850) 558-4366