Florida Public Safety Institute's Pat Thomas Law Enforcement Academy (PTLEA) offers training to become a certified law enforcement officer.
Each class also completes at least one community service project to help students understand how to serve as well as protect.
Our Academy graduates are heavily recruited across Florida and we offer a seamless transition from job-related training to career-related education through the Tallassee Community College.
Law Enforcement Program
Covers 20 Areas of Instruction, Including:
Courses Offered Are:
Steps to Apply
Complete the Steps to Apply to TCC, then complete and submit the FPSI application and include all the required documents. The FPSI application is attached to the course.
If you have taken classes at TCC, you will still need to apply for admission into any new program at TCC to make sure your information is up-to-date.
Submit a Recruit Application
Please fill out this Initial Contact Form to have a coordinator contact you about the academy.
Download a Law Enforcement and Corrections Basic Recruit Applicationand complete the enclosed checklist. All documents must be included, or the application will not be processed. The seven-year driving history can be picked up at DHSMV for a charge of approximately $10.
Return all completed applications either in person or via U.S. mail to the following address:
Florida Public Safety Institute
ATTN: Law Enforcement Coordinator or Corrections Coordinator (whichever is relevant)
75 College Drive, Suite 203
Havana, Florida 32333
Contact the Testing Center
Contact the Testing Center at (850) 201-8282 and achieve a passing score on the CJBAT test (Criminal Justice Basic Abilities Test). There is a $35.00 charge to take the test. Those applying to the law enforcement academy must take the law enforcement CJBAT exam. Those applying to the corrections academy must take the corrections CJBAT exam.
Associate Degree or higher and honorably discharged military veterans are exempt from the CJBAT Test.
Apply for Admission to TCC
Submit Residency Declaration
Students seeking Florida residency for tuition purposes are required to submit a declaration to the College proving they, or their parent/legal guardian, maintained legal residence in this state for at least 12 consecutive months immediately prior to his or her initial enrollment.
The declaration and all supporting documentation must be submitted through Workday prior to the start of classes.
Obtain a Level II Background Check
Obtain a Level II criminal background check for State (FDLE) & Federal (FBI) via an FDLE approved vendor and sent it to our ORI (FL922480Z). See below for a list of FDLE approved vendors' link. Fees for the Level II criminal background checks are set by the vendors. Applicants must choose a vendor from this list or the prints will not suffice for admittance into the academy.
Please ensure that you do not complete this step more than three months prior to the start date of the class you are applying for. However, we will need the results prior to your interview date, which will occur within the three-month window just referenced. Typically, it takes 24-48 hours after you get your fingerprints done before the results are received. A government-issued form of identification must be presented to the vendor.
After Submitting an Application
Once the application has been completed and turned in, applicants will be contacted for an interview date and time. At the conclusion of the interview, applicants will receive an acceptance letter or the reason for not being accepted.
Applicants should not obtain a medical examination until they have been accepted to the academy.
It is recommended that applicants begin an exercise program that builds stamina and flexibility. Review this Physical Fitness Training Plan and work to improve areas that may need improvement for the physical training required while attending the academy.
Basic Recruit Law Enforcement Academy Classes
- January 4, 2024 - Day Law Enforcement Academy (6-Month program / 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. / M-F)
- November 29 - December 7, 2023 - Exemption from Training Course (8 a.m. - 5 p.m. / M-S)
You may qualify if:
- You are an Out of State Officer with a minimum of one year of service
- A Federal Officer with a minimum of one year of service or a Former Florida Officer who has been inactive between four and eight years
This 10-day course will have you ready to go to work at its completion. We provide the required High Liability Proficiency courses and basic recruit block test saturation that prepares you for the state exam. You will take the State Officer Certification Exam in our certified Pearson Vue testing lab. We have an onsite residence facility and a full-service cafeteria.
Although it is not required that you ara a Florida resident to attend the academy, you must be a citizen of the United States. Recruits from other states will be subject to out-of-state fees that are about three times the rate for in-state tuition. Contact the coordinator listed on the course announcement for exact amounts.
How often is the basic recruit academy offered?
Two full-time classes and one part-time class are offered each year. Please consult our course listing for upcoming scheduled programs.
What are the hours for the evening (part-time) course?
The class meets Monday through Friday from 6 to 10 p.m. You also will meet for 17 Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The class does not meet on holidays and is off during the TCC spring break.
Are scholarships available?
Yes, scholarships are available for the basic law enforcement recruit class:
Follow the link below for more information.
What are the minimum qualifications necessary to become an officer?
We recommend you visit the Florida Department of Law Enforcement web site for complete information.
Where can I stay if I need accommodations when I come to the Institute for training?
How can I become a certified officer in Florida?
There are three basic steps to becoming a certified officer in Florida. First, complete the required training for the profession. Second, pass the State Officer Certification Exam (SOCE). Third, become employed as an officer.
I have a misdemeanor arrest involving perjury or false statements. Can I be certified as a law enforcement, correctional or correctional probation officer in the State of Florida?
I have a prior felony arrest. Can I be certified as a law enforcement, correctional or correctional probation officer in the State of Florida?
If the felony charges are dismissed or nolle prossed, then issues regarding the person’s moral character are determined by the employing agency. The person is not barred by Statute from holding certification.
Does the academy have a job placement service?
No. However, the academy routinely invites representatives from agencies statewide to recruit from each class.
Do I need a college education to become a law enforcement officer, corrections officer or a correctional probation officer?
Although some agencies may require a college degree there are a greater number that only require a high school diploma or GED. A bachelor's degree is required for correctional probation officers.